Jacob and Esau

Today as I was studying Jacob, I found that Jacob once meant “finagler or one who finagles”.   That could be evidenced by even in the womb, Jacob took hold of his brother’s heel.  Later on when thinking he needed to “finagle” his older brother’s birthright, he disguised himself as Esau, his brother and tricked his father into blessing him. After finding out about this trickery, his brother wanted to kill him.  Jacob fled from home and years later was returning but afraid of his brother.  Having to wrestle with an angel, the negative characteristic fell away during the  spiritual struggle.  His brother also had forgiven him. I love this story because often we may feel we need something bad enough to be unethical in attempting to achieve a goal.  This story shows us that it is totally unnecessary and never fulfilling.

Genesis 33:9,10 reads “And Esau said, I have enough, my brother; keep that thou hast unto thyself.  And Jacob said, nay, I pray thee, if now I have found grace in thy sight, then receive my present at my hand “.  Esau had already forgiven him. 

Leave a Reply

