God Chasteneth those He Loves

As I pray with Revelation 3:19 which reads, “As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.”, I am led to look up old definitions of the word, “chasten”.  Some dictionaries say it means to “punish” while others read to “correct”.  I choose the one that is to correct because it feels more like I am a student and learning while to punish denotes that I have done something wrong.  God is a God of Love and, of course, teaches us and reveals the Truth to us as our heart is softened and our human will power ceases.  Repent also means to change the way we are viewing something.

When I think like this, I am both grateful and humbled by this chastening!

gulf-fritillary-on-flower-signed

One thought on “God Chasteneth those He Loves

Leave a Reply

