Priceless Gift

Yesterday, I was outside and one of the two little boys who live next door came over to me and asked me if I remembered bringing him and his brother cookies at Christmas.  I told him that I did and he replied they were gone now.  I asked if he would like more and he said, “Yes”.

Today, I made them chocolate chip cookies and got them each a coloring book, crayons and playdough.  This afternoon, my doorbell rang and there was the two little boys and their mother.  They had drawn me pictures and written thank-you notes and handed me a can of pork and beans! When I told them I loved everything, each of them told the mom, “See, I told you she  would like them!”  They were beaming and so, was I.  No, I had never received a can of beans as a thank you, but it was the most heartfelt gift I had ever received!

One thought on “Priceless Gift

Leave a Reply

