Removing Ego, Experiencing Love

Years ago, during the Valentine Season, when I was selling diamonds and fine jewelry for one of the largest diamond chains in the nation, a young girl and her aunt came in to purchase a gift for her mother.  Immediately, she told me she had $100 so I showed her a $94.99 gold heart and chain.  She was “beaming” as I walked her to the back for her sale to be rung up and gift-wrapped.

As she left the store, she smiled grandly and waved “good-bye” to me.  Actually, I felt good even though it was a rather small sale.

My manager walked up behind me and led me toward the diamond room.  Since I was in the top 25 in the nation, I certainly wasn’t expecting criticism.  He questioned me about showing her a $100 item and I quickly replied that was all the money that she had.

Then he told me that she had her aunt with her and I was limiting my sale and leaving money on the table and on and on and on as if I hadn’t been in the business for twenty-five years.  He was very stern when he told me he never wanted me to “show low” again.

Finally, he finished his diatribe, either from boredom or fear of making me angry (which I was).  As we were leaving the diamond room, I glanced up and hesitantly walking toward me was an older, bent-over gentleman.  After greeting him warmly, he told me had never bought his wife a piece of jewelry in the fifty years of marriage and only had $50.

With my manager breathing down my neck, I quickly turned to God and ask for his help in pleasing both of these men.  Obviously, the situation was out of my control.

Within a minute, I unlocked one of our more-expensive cases and took out a new $2,500 ruby and diamond necklace and laid it in his hands and asked his thought on it since it was new.  He just gasped and replied that it was beautiful.  Then I moved to the next case and took out a necklace in his price range and began telling him the qualities of the piece.  He shook his head and smiled broadly and we walked to the rear of the store and his purchase was rung up and gift-wrapped.

When he walked out of the store, he walked over to my manager and told him our jewelry was wonderful as well as our service.  He even walked prouder when he left the store.

So much was learned that day!  As I humbly removed my “know-it-all” ego and humbly listened for guidance , I was led to the right answer which blessed everyone.  Definitely, what blesses one, blesses all.

Leave a Reply

