The Lord’s Mercies

This morning  was spent in the nearby court house serving jury duty while I  was mentally battling unwanted thoughts.  My phone had to be silenced and I thought about calls that would be trying to get through and the three or four hundred strangers that were sitting with me.  And of course, my time was worth more than $6 for the day and on and on and on.  Performing my civic duty was not helping me here.

Frequently, I entertain strong opposing opinions relating to government matters, but actually, more often than not, I am a “Monday morning quarterback”.

Then I began to see I had an opportunity to do something here.  The remainder of the morning was spent in prayer for our country, government and the people who give their lives defending our rights.

My mood shifted as my thoughts became more grateful and humbled and I noticed more eye contact with “my sisters and brothers” and more smiles!

The verse from Lamentations 3 came to mind “It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.”  That is so true.  I am so grateful for this great country and the opportunity to serve in any way I can.

One thought on “The Lord’s Mercies

Leave a Reply

